Skip to content

Decree Preparation – Repentance

November 27, 2012

As I reviewed my blog entry of 11/7/2012 with the Temple Time Decree, I was gently reminded by the Holy Spirit that I have not  done the preparation necessary for such a decree.

In my blog entry of 11/3/2012, I wrote from the book of Job, vs. 23 “If you return to the Almighty, you will be restored, if you remove unrighteousness far from your tent,”
I wrote: “So let’s do what it says, let’s yield to Him, receive His instruction, get it into our hearts and then confess any unrighteousness. Do not forget the repentance part of this, for the Bible clearly says that THEN He will hear our prayers and our decrees will be established and light will shine on our ways.”

The Holy Spirit reminded me of the sins that I needed to repent of that are related to the food and fitness issue. Not only do I need to seek forgiveness of these sins, but I have to make every effort NOT to participate in them anymore. It is not a small thing! Do any of these ring true for you?

Gluttony – Overeating. This has become an acceptable practice in many Christian circles. Overeating is almost never called sinful. However, I clearly see what the Bible says.
Proverbs 23:20-21 Do not join those who drink too much wine or gorge themselves on meat, for drunkards and gluttons become poor, and drowsiness clothes them in rags.

Idolatry of food and drink or fitness training. I know that I have gone to food instead of God so many times for comfort, joy, etc which amounts to idolatry. I know of people who swap one issue for another more acceptable practice; people who have switched from alcohol to fitness training or from smoking to overeating. It does not matter what we choose to go to instead of God, it is the same sin.
1 Corinthians 10:14-15 Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry. I speak to sensible people; judge for yourselves what I say.

Bad Stewardship of my body – I have not treated my body, God’s temple, with the respect that it deserves. Of course overeating is one way, eating things that are not good for it is another, as well as not getting enough rest.
1 Corinthians 3:16-17 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple.

Disobedience – There have been many times when I know that I should have gone to bed and to sleep, but I haven’t. The consequence of this action is not just being tired in the morning, but being too tired and/or running my body’s immunity down and feeling sick, thereby not being able to be used by God for His purposes. This I know grieves the Holy Spirit.
Titus 1:16 They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny him. They are detestable, disobedient and unfit for doing anything good.

Believing a lie I have listened to circumstance instead of God. I have felt like I have no control. However I know that this is a lie. I have free will, even if it does not FEEL like I do. Self-control is a fruit of the Holy Spirit. I cannot exercise the control needed without His help.
Hosea 10:13 But you have planted wickedness, you have reaped evil, you have eaten the fruit of deception. Because you have depended on your own strength and on your many warriors
1 Peter 2:1 Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind.

Not Caring – ApathySometimes I have adopted the attitude of not caring about what I am eating, how much I am eating, etc. Underneath this attitude is really the weariness I have felt in this struggle.
Matthew 11:28-30 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

At times it also has been the rebellion in this struggle. I don’t want to have these issues, so I sometimes act like I don’t. I am not fooling anyone.
Nehemiah 9:17 They refused to listen and failed to remember the miracles you performed among them. They became stiff-necked and in their rebellion appointed a leader in order to return to their slavery. But you are a forgiving God, gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love. Therefore you did not desert them

PRAY
You may have identified other sinful habits. I find it helpful to write my prayer of repentance down. I know that I may need to say this again and again right before I say the Decree. Anointing with oil helps to expedite this whole process and cement the transformation of the mind. The oil of Forgiveness or Hyssop are wonderful for this.
1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness
Psalm 51:7Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

Always praying for your success,
Veronica

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

