Skip to content

The Role of Scripture in Transformation

October 17, 2012

How do we transform our mind, therefore our actions? Every time an incorrect thought comes to mind, we must rebuke that thought and replace it with the Truth, sometimes again and again. Anything becomes stronger as it is reinforced.

Our Words
Often we start thoughts or verbal sentences with “I”:

  • I deserve it.
  • I’m tired of being on a diet.
  • I’m a boredom eater.
  • I want to, but I am exhausted.
  • I’m overwhelmed.
  • I’m too far gone.
  • I don’t want to deprive myself.
  • I can’t go to sleep when I am hungry.
  • I am convinced that I’ll never get rid of my cellulite.
  • I have had a full day and I am done.
  • I’m too stressed to make a better choice.
  • I feel good for that moment.

These are not just harmless thoughts. Some of them may be cloaked so well that they even appear like self-care. Either way, they contain power and there are consequences to thoughts such as these:

  • They may glorify ourselves and put ourselves first – even above God, which may amount to idolatry.
  • They may give excuses and rationalize our behavior – or lack of obedience to God.
  • They may put God in a box, forgetting that He is the God of the impossible.

Consequences to Our Words
Don’t those thoughts sabotage our efforts for transformation? They not only stop us from moving forward, but they trip us up. The side effects or actions that go with these thoughts actually work against us and may cause us to go on an obedience-sabotage-condemnation cycle until we are so discouraged that we lose hope and quit. At those times, we are operating in our own power and/or without the whole Truth.

However, I know that we really FEEL what these thoughts convey and there is a message in the feeling. Sometimes they tell us that we are not in God’s will. Does God really want us to be feeling the way those thoughts express? Sometimes we need to dig deeper to see the reality of what is going on. However, sometimes being tired is just a sign of knowing that we need to go to bed. Are we obedient and do it?

God’s Word
There is also power in God’s Word. It is called the Living Word. There is supernatural synergy when we decree or pray scripture. When we replace incorrect thoughts with scripture, I believe that our minds our transformed in a way only God can and will do.

Consequences to God’s Word
In praying and decreeing scripture, many things occur simultaneously:

  • We have the assurance that we are praying in alignment with His will.
  • We surrender our control to God.
  • We submit to His authority.
  • We are saying that we trust Him.
  • We are honoring Him (as an author is when quoted.)
  • We are saying that we believe Him.
  • It is an act of love, for the bible says that obedience is an act of love.
  • We draw closer to Him.
  • We are acknowledging His sovereignty that His ways are best, true and right for us.
  • It strengthens our faith.
  • It brings us freedom.

The word of God will always hold more weight than our own thoughts. So when a verse resonates with you, I encourage you to write it down on a 3×5 card and memorize it.

1 John 5:14-15
This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.

Proverbs 4:20-22
My son, pay attention to what I say; listen closely to my words.
Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart;

for they are life to those who find them and health to a man’s whole body.
Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt talk far from your lips.

Why strong arm success when we have the Power of the Holy Spirit within us that can so easily be accessed through His Word!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

