Skip to content

Mission Possible

September 21, 2012

I wrote this simple mission statement to help  keep me focused and committed to the plan. In this case, I believe it will be the foundation for something that I haven’t been totally successful at it yet. I hope it works the same for you.

It is based on 2 Scripture verses. I encourage you to pray and ponder these and ask God to unpack their meanings for you:

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple. 1 Corinthians 3:16-17 (NIV)

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.  Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. Romans 12:1-2 (NIV) 

Mission Statement 

To honor our temples (bodies) and obtain optimal health & fitness addressing each component: spiritual, mindful, emotional, and physical to experience abundant life. Understanding that having our beliefs line up with the will of God will help us to obtain this goal so that we can live out Romans 12:1-2.

What does Romans 12:1-2 mean to you?

Don’t read too fast. Stop after the urging to “in view of God’s mercy”. Ahhhh God’s sweet mercy. Going further, I don’t think it is by accident that this verse says something about our bodies as a living sacrifice. We do have to give up something to have bodies fit to be holy and pleasing to God. But I am encouraged that it is considered “true and proper worship”. That is the payoff – knowing that I am worshipping God through this.

I really like verse 2 and its warning. There is a lot of man-made knowledge about health and fitness. I am committed to seeking out the One who would know what is best for me, my Creator.

I am ready and committed to yielding to the process of transformation!

Do you believe that health and fitness is a choice?I believe that it is, but I realized that it may not always be a priority. Sometimes I FEEL like it is not a choice, that something else has control. But I am forced to ask myself – is that true?

Do you believe that God wants you to be healthy & fit? I totally believe through scripture that God wants every single one of us to be healthy and fit. If you struggle with this, pray that God reveals Truth to you – His Truth. We will dig deeper into this in the future.

Behavioral Change through Self-Discipline vs Change Driven by Belief  

For example, take a messy room and a child. Why do we teach children to have their rooms clean? I believe we can “strong arm” our children into putting their rooms in order – to change behavior. Perhaps we use consequences to solidify the behavior we seek from them.

But what is going happen when the child is not under your rules and consequences? Will the child still keep the room orderly? Maybe yes, maybe no. What would make the difference?

I can imagine that a child who grew up avoiding the consequences could have formed a great habit of keeping their room orderly. The child has had 18 years or longer developing the habit.

And/or I can also imagine that the child learned good stewardship. In other words, the child “bought” into the beliefs that order is good, that we need to treat our possessions with care, etc.

It is similar with our bodies – we can develop good habits over time and create a habit of good stewardship.

And/or we can soak ourselves in the Word to transform our beliefs and strengthen them so they drive our behavior automatically. If this happens we do not have to strong arm the behavior constantly through self-discipline. It can happen with more ease. This is what I am after.

A transformation of my body & soul (mind, will, and emotions) is what I seek!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

